The Jackson Police Department is comprised of 26 sworn and 11 non-sworn positions. The department utilizes a community-oriented policing philosophy that encourages community interaction and problem solving. Officers are empowered to make decisions they feel will reduce cycles of violence, crime, and recidivism.

Todd Smith, Chief of Police
Cole Nethercott,  Lieutenant 

Main Office
Hours: 8 AM - 5 PM, Monday through Friday, or by appointment  
Mailing Address:
Jackson Police Department
P.O. Box 1687 

150 East Pearl Avenue 
Jackson, WY 83001

24 Hour Non-Emergency Contact:  Teton County Dispatch: (307) 733-2331
Emergency: 911

Phone: (307) 733-1430
Fax: (307) 733-3241 

The department is divided into six main work units: patrol, investigations, community service officers, animal shelter, support staff, and victim services. In addition, the department utilizes bicycle, horse-mounted, and foot patrols. The department also provides law enforcement services to the Jackson Hole Airport. The jail and the communications center fall under the supervision of the Teton County Sheriff’s Office, but are jointly funded by the Town.

The Town of Jackson is currently recruiting a police office. For more information about the position and the organization, please see our list of Job Openings.

Enjoy our community and stay safe.